Upcoming Events

Conference
Training
Webinar
Date:
June 26, 2024
Time:
9:00 AM CDT (UTC -05:00)

Energy efficiency has always been an important consideration for process heat exchanger design. Current design approaches implement steady-state conservation laws only for mass and energy (the first law of thermodynamics) and are limited because the efficiency value always approaches unity.  This webinar explores a new, more discriminating efficiency analysis in Xchanger Suite® that is based on the second law of thermodynamics. By calculating the net change in thermodynamic availability of the streams, we can evaluate the irreversible energy loss—an important metric in trade-off studies. This irreversibility is dependent on the dead-state temperature and the net change in entropy of the streams. After an overview of the first and second laws, this webinar reviews two case studies: a shell-and-tube heat exchanger and an air-cooled heat exchanger. We then review the overall efficiency trends noted when evaluating heat exchanger designs using the second law of thermodynamics.

Join this webinar to learn more.

Duration: Approximately 60 minutes

Registration deadline: June 24, 2024 (11:59 PM US Central Time)


Date:
July 01, 2024
Time:
9:00 PM CDT (UTC -05:00)

Session targeted for audience in Asia (July 02, 2024 at 7:30 AM – 8:30 AM India Standard Time, 10:00 AM – 11:00 AM China Standard Time, 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM Japan Standard Time).

Energy efficiency has always been an important consideration for process heat exchanger design. Current design approaches implement steady-state conservation laws only for mass and energy (the first law of thermodynamics) and are limited because the efficiency value always approaches unity.  This webinar explores a new, more discriminating efficiency analysis in Xchanger Suite® that is based on the second law of thermodynamics. By calculating the net change in thermodynamic availability of the streams, we can evaluate the irreversible energy loss—an important metric in trade-off studies. This irreversibility is dependent on the dead-state temperature and the net change in entropy of the streams. After an overview of the first and second laws, this webinar reviews two case studies: a shell-and-tube heat exchanger and an air-cooled heat exchanger. We then review the overall efficiency trends noted when evaluating heat exchanger designs using the second law of thermodynamics.

Join this webinar to learn more.

Duration: Approximately 60 minutes

Registration deadline: June 26, 2024 (11:59 PM US Central Time)


Date:
July 24, 2024
Time:
2:30 AM CDT (UTC -05:00)

Session targeted for audience in Europe and Asia (July 24, 2024 at 9:30 AM – 10:30 AM Central European Summer Time, 1:00 PM – 2:00 PM India Standard Time, 3:30 PM – 4:30 PM China Standard Time, 4:30 PM – 5:30 PM Japan Standard Time).

Considered to be the most advanced thermal process design and simulation software, Xchanger Suite® rates, simulates, and designs a variety of heat transfer equipment. This webinar offers an overview of the major new features in Version 9.2, including 

  • improved kettle methods in Xist®
  • improved falling film evaporator (FFE) methods in Xist
  • exergy calculation in Xace®Xhpe®Xist and Xjpe®
  • porous coated tube option in XaceXhpeXist and Xjpe
  • non-Newtonian fluids (NNF) option in Xist
  • volumetric flow rate input in Xist
  • outlet pressure input in Xist
  • plugged tubes option in Xace 

Join this webinar to learn more about features like these.

Duration: Approximately 60 minutes

Registration deadline: July 18, 2024 (11:59 PM US Central Time)


Galveston Island Convention Center | Galveston, TX, USA | June 26 - 27, 2024

Downstream USA 2024 conference will bring together 500+ executives from major downstream producers and EPCs for 2-days of exclusive case-studies evidencing real ROI and discussion sharing lessons learned and successful strategies cutting costs, creating value, and driving decarbonizing.

HTRI will be exhibiting at Booth #823.


Hilton Anaheim | Anaheim, California, USA | July 15 - 17, 2024

ASME welcomes you to the 2024 Fluids Engineering Division's (FED) Summer Meeting where FED continues to strive to meet the challenges of disseminating timely technical information by organizing technical conferences and conducting workshops and panel discussions. Every year FED organizes the Fluids Engineering Division Summer Meeting (FEDSM) and this year will be co-locating with the Summer Heat Transfer Conference and Energy Sustainability Conference.

Syed Haq will be presenting, Flow Maldistribution in Heat Exchangers and Role of Computational Fluid Dynamics in Predictions.


Fiesta Americana Merida Hotel | Merida, Yucatan, Mexico | August 11 - 14, 2024

Welcome to PetroPhase 2024 - The 24th edition of the International Conference on Petroleum Phase Behavior and Fouling. PetroPhase is a forum where the latest technical advances on the production and processing of petroleum as well as the most significant techniques for a quick and efficient energy transition are presented and discussed. The conference will be held at the beautiful city of Mérida, México, where Mayan ancient pyramids mix with the largest water canal and cenotes natural network in the planet.

Aaron Smith will be presenting, Evidence Asphaltene Precipitates Foul in an Intermediate State.