Back to Upcoming Events

Xfh Ultra Workshop

November 15 - 18, 2021

Registration Deadline:
November 08, 2021
Registration and payment must be received by the November 08, 2021 deadline. Training registration is not complete until HTRI receives payment.


Schedule

This online course consists of recorded lectures available on demand and live Q&A sessions. Your registration gives you access to all Q&A sessions and course content during the four-day access period.

All course instruction will be provided in pre-recorded videos available on demand. The live Q&A sessions are optional. These sessions are available to you for clarification on topics and answers to questions that you may have regarding the course. 

Tuesday, November 16, 2021

Q&A Session 1:

8:00 AM – 8:30 AM Greenwich Mean Time
1:30 PM – 2:00 PM India Standard Time
4:00 PM – 4:30 PM China Standard Time
5:00 PM – 5:30 PM Japan Standard Time

Q&A Session 2:

9:00 AM – 9:30 AM Central Standard Time
3:00 PM – 3:30 PM Greenwich Mean Time

 

Thursday, November 18, 2021

Q&A Session 3:

8:00 AM – 8:30 AM Greenwich Mean Time
1:30 PM – 2:00 PM India Standard Time
4:00 PM – 4:30 PM China Standard Time
5:00 PM – 5:30 PM Japan Standard Time

Q&A Session 4:

9:00 AM – 9:30 AM Central Standard Time
3:00 PM – 3:30 PM Greenwich Mean Time

 

Registrants will receive an email containing instructions on how to access the online course and optional, live Q&A sessions. The email will be distributed at least (2) business days prior to start of the four-day access period. Instructor-led Q&A sessions are hosted in Microsoft® Teams®. Xfh® Ultra examples are used to complete case study exercises. If a registrant does not have access to HTRI software through a member company, HTRI will provide a temporary license for use during the event. All training materials are based on the current version of Xfh® Ultra.

Description

This workshop is an introduction to modeling the performance of process fired heaters using Xfh Ultra. Starting with a brief review of fundamental concepts, attendees will then use an API 560 Specification Sheet of a proposed fired heater design to develop a complete fired heater model in Xfh Ultra and rate the heater’s performance.

Key Topics

  • Process fired heater fundamentals
  • Xfh Ultra capabilities and applications
  • Heuristic approach to model development in Xfh Ultra
  • Fluid definitions, process specification, and geometry inputs
  • Practical guidelines for interpreting Xfh Ultra output reports and measures of performance

Suggested Participants

Engineers with or without prior knowledge of fired heater design, who rate the performance of process fired heaters

HTRI Software

This course will make use of the following HTRI software: Xfh® Ultra

Course Fee: US$450


Instructors

Andy Mountford
Andy mountford

Senior Technical Lead, Training, provides technical support and training for HTRI. He earned a BSc and MSc in Chemistry and a PhD in Organometallic and Materials Chemistry from the University of East Anglia, Norwich, UK. During his tenure there, he conducted research at Wolfson Laboratory for Materials and Catalysis. He previously held the position of Thermal Design Supervisor at Tecnicas Reunidas in Madrid, Spain, gaining valuable experience using HTRI methods and software. Mountford oversaw the development of several high-profile PWR and BWR nuclear plant projects, as well as gained valuable experience in the thermohydraulic design of heat transfer equipment for the petrochemical and nitric acid/nitrates industries. His experience in using HTRI Xchanger Suite makes him uniquely qualified to bring an end-user’s perspective to the HTRI training program and to share techniques for effectively working with the software.