Back to Upcoming Events

Xace Workshop

July 24 - 27, 2023

Early Registration Deadline:
June 26, 2023
To qualify for the 10% early registration discount, your registration and approved credit card payment must be received and processed by our system before 11:59 PM (23:59) US Central Time on June 26, 2023.
Registration Deadline:
July 17, 2023
Registration and payment must be received by the July 17, 2023 deadline. Training registration is not complete until HTRI receives payment.


Schedule

This online course consists of recorded lectures available on demand and live Q&A sessions. Your registration gives you access to course content during the four-day access period. All course instruction will be provided in pre-recorded videos available on demand. The live Q&A sessions are available to you for clarification on topics and answers to questions that you may have regarding the course.

Registrants will receive an email containing instructions on how to access the online course and live Q&A sessions. The email will be distributed at least (2) business days prior to the start of the four-day access period. Instructor-led Q&A sessions are hosted in Microsoft® Teams®. Xchanger Suite® examples are used to complete case study exercises. If a registrant does not have access to HTRI software through a member company, HTRI will provide a temporary license for use during the event. All training materials are based on the current software version.

Description

Do you design air-cooled heat exchangers? Evaluate their performance? Then this workshop is for you. Learn how to use Xace effectively to rate and design air-cooled heat exchangers, economizers, and air preheaters. All example problems and practice exercises relate to geometries handled only by Xace.

Key Topics

  • Overview of Xace capabilities and applications
  • Geometry inputs for air coolers and economizers
  • Process specifications for rating, simulation, and design
  • Guidelines for specifying fluid properties
  • Introduction to HTRI analysis methods

Suggested Participants

Designers of air-cooled heat exchangers and process engineers who evaluate their performance

HTRI Software

This course will make use of the following HTRI software: Xchanger Suite® component Xace®

Course Fee: US$450

 

Sessions

    Xace Workshop (US$450)

    Instructor: Peter Joosten

    This online course consists of recorded lectures available on demand and live Q&A sessions. Your registration gives you access to course content during the four-day access period (July 24 – 27, 2023).

    Session times targeted for audience in Asia.

    Q&A Session 1: Tuesday, July 25, 2023 Q&A Session 2: Thursday, July 27, 2023

    8:00 AM – 8:30 AM British Summer Time
    12:30 PM – 1:00 PM India Standard Time
    3:00 PM – 3:30 PM China Standard Time
    4:00 PM – 4:30 PM Japan Standard Time

    8:00 AM – 8:30 AM British Summer Time
    12:30 PM – 1:00 PM India Standard Time
    3:00 PM – 3:30 PM China Standard Time
    4:00 PM – 4:30 PM Japan Standard Time

    Xace Workshop (US$450)

    Instructor: Andy Mountford

    This online course consists of recorded lectures available on demand and live Q&A sessions. Your registration gives you access to course content during the four-day access period (July 24 – 27, 2023).

    Session times targeted for audience in USA and Europe.

    Q&A Session 1: Tuesday, July 25, 2023 Q&A Session 2: Thursday, July 27, 2023

    9:00 AM – 9:30 AM Central Daylight Time
    3:00 PM – 3:30 PM British Summer Time
    4:00 PM – 4:30 PM Central European Summer Time

    9:00 AM – 9:30 AM Central Daylight Time
    3:00 PM – 3:30 PM British Summer Time
    4:00 PM – 4:30 PM Central European Summer Time


Instructors

Andy Mountford
Andy mountford

Senior Technical Lead, Training, provides technical support and training for HTRI. He earned a BSc and MSc in Chemistry and a PhD in Organometallic and Materials Chemistry from the University of East Anglia, Norwich, UK. During his tenure there, he conducted research at Wolfson Laboratory for Materials and Catalysis. He previously held the position of Thermal Design Supervisor at Tecnicas Reunidas in Madrid, Spain, gaining valuable experience using HTRI methods and software. Mountford oversaw the development of several high-profile PWR and BWR nuclear plant projects, as well as gained valuable experience in the thermohydraulic design of heat transfer equipment for the petrochemical and nitric acid/nitrates industries. His experience in using HTRI Xchanger Suite makes him uniquely qualified to bring an end-user’s perspective to the HTRI training program and to share techniques for effectively working with the software.


Peter Joosten
Peter joosten

Senior Consulting Engineer & Regional Sales Manager, Australia/Oceania, works with HTRI’s Engineering Services and Global Sales teams. His principal responsibilities include developing and conducting training programs, providing technical support, and promoting membership in the HTRI consortium. He earned a Bachelor of Mechanical Engineering degree from Fontys University of Applied Science, Venlo, The Netherlands. Prior to joining HTRI, Joosten was a Senior Heat Transfer Engineer at W. E. Smith Engineering, Coffs Harbour, Australia. His primary role was the thermal design and analysis of all types of shell-and-tube exchangers, air coolers, economizers, feedwater heaters, and steam surface condensers. He was also responsible for the mechanical design and stress analysis of these units, as well as for analyzing and resolving operational issues. His previous experience with HTRI software gives him a valuable end-user perspective.